You may get different answers from different players to the above question. But in actuality, you should follow only the official rule of the USAPA because it is the same worldwide irrespective of your location or nationality. That is why I will answer you according to the official rules book of USAPA.
To keep it short, I would like to tell you that your paddle can cross the plane of the pickleball net. But it has an exceptional case. So do not leave and keep reading ahead.
Can Your Racket Cross the Plane of the Pickleball Net?
I did a lot of research to determine whether your paddle crossed the plane of the pickleball net.
Finally, after a continuous effort of about 50 hours, I discovered that, yes, your paddle could cross the plane of the pickleball net. But there are some limited circumstances to allow your racquet to pass the plane of the pickleball net.
Having your attention, you will know when your paddle can cross the pickleball net.
So, your paddle can cross the pickleball net only after you hit the ball. You can consider it the only eligibility criterion for your pickleball racquet to pass over the net.
Hence following the official USAPA Rules, you [the pickleball player] cannot cross the pickleball net until after striking the ball. However, you are also granted an exception with this official pickleball rule. So, let us see what leniency is given to you.
An Exception to the Official Pickleball Rule
I know you may be confused after knowing this exception. That is why I will try to keep it as simple as possible for your better understanding. So don’t worry and keep reading ahead.
Without further ado, I would like to tell you that you [the pickleball player] may cross the pickleball net before hitting the pickleball on just one condition.
And the condition is that your ball having high spin arrives at the net opposite side without any touch after being bounced.
Consequently, this was the exception when you could run across the pickleball net to hit the ball with the above condition being fulfilled.
What Happens If Anything Touches the Pickleball Net?
Since we talked about can your paddle cross the pickleball net or not, now comes the time to discuss what will occur if you or anything you carry touches the pickleball net.
Accordingly, if you are running not to miss the shot, but at the same time, you, unfortunately, touch the pickleball net, posts, or the opposite side of the pickleball court. Then you have made a fault. Therefore, your opponent will score a point, and you will lose.
Here comes the time to finish our guide about can your paddle cross the plane of the pickleball net. So, it can cross the net after you hit the pickleball. Otherwise, it would be a fault leading you to lose points.
I am Michael Wanner, an experienced and educated expert in the field of pickleball. I hold a degree in Sports Science from Cleveland State University, Ohio, USA. My expertise lies in the technical aspects of pickleball and how to play it effectively. I have spent many years playing and coaching pickleball and have a wealth of knowledge to share with my readers. I am a valuable resource for anyone looking to improve their pickleball skills and strategies.